Committees

Committees made up of faculty members and administrators, and in some cases community members, oversee research activities at The University of Texas at Austin.

Look up addresses and phone numbers for committee members in the university's directory.

Advisory Committees
Advisory Committee on Classified Research

Committee Charge

The Advisory Committee on Classified Research is appointed by the Vice President for Research under the provisions of the Handbook of Operating Procedures, Section 5.09. The committee is charged with (1) reviewing the classified research program for conformance with university policy and advising the President accordingly; (2) considering issues relative to the university’s policy regarding classified research and recommending changes in policy as necessary; and (3) reviewing procedures relative to classified research programs and considering infrastructure needs and administrative issues. The committee meets at least annually and is required to submit a report to the President annually on its findings relative to university policies on classified research and any recommendations for changes in those policies.

2018-2019 Advisory Committee on Classified Research Member Roster

MemberDepartmentEmail
Dean Appling, Ph.D.College of Natural Sciencesdappling@austin.utexas.edu
Luis Caffarelli, Ph.D.Mathematicscaffarel@math.utexas.edu
Robert Chesney, J.D.School of Lawrchesney@law.utexas.edu
Jim Davis, J.D.Vice President for Legal Affairsjim.davis@austin.utexas.edu
John Ekerdt, Ph.D.Cockrell School of Engineeringekerdt@utexas.edu
Karl Fisher, Ph.D. Applied Research Laboratorieskfisher@arlut.utexas.edu
Dan Jaffe, Ph.D., Ex-officioVice President for Researchdtj@austin.utexas.edu
Delia Milliron, Ph.D.Chemical Engineeringmilliron@che.utexas.edu
Tanya Paull, Ph.D.Molecular Biosciencestpaull@utexas.edu
Bruce Porter, Ph.D.Computer Scienceporter@cs.utexas.edu
Roy Schwitters, Ph.D., ChairPhysicsschwitters@physics.utexas.edu
Daniel Stanzione, Ph.D.Texas Advanced Computing Centerdan@tacc.utexas.edu
Courtney Frazier SwaneyOffice of Sponsored Projectsc_frazier@austin.utexas.edu

Return to top.

Laboratory Safety Advisory Committee

Committee Charge

The Committee is charged to act in an advisory and consultative capacity regarding the administration, implementation and coordination of policies and procedures for safety and environmental health in University research activities. The functions of this committee complement but do not overlap the responsibilities of the Institutional Biosafety Committee and the Radiation Safety Committee. Areas of consideration include regulatory compliance, training, inspections, hazardous materials management, waste minimization, emergency response, signage, and biological safety.

2018-2019 Laboratory Safety Advisory Committee Member Roster

MemberDepartmentEmail
Seth Bank, Ph.D.Electrical and Computer Engineeringsbank@ece.utexas.edu
Leo Barnes, J.D.Chief Compliance Officerlbarnes@austin.utexas.edu
Jennifer Brodbelt, Ph.D., ChairChemistryjbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu
Z. Jeffrey Chen, Ph.D.Integrative Biologyzjchen@austin.utexas.edu
Kevin Dalby, Ph.D.College of Pharmacydalby@austin.utexas.edu
Alejandro De Lozanne, Ph.D.Physicsdelozanne@physics.utexas.edu
John Digiovanni, Ph.D.College of Pharmacyjohn.digiovanni@austin.utexas.edu
Jackie Dudley, Ph.D.Molecular Biosciencesjdudley@austin.utexas.edu
Ann HarasimowitzCollege of Natural Sciencesann.harasimowitz@austin.utexas.edu
Julie HayesDell Medical Schooljuliehayes@utexas.edu
Vishwanath Iyer, Ph.D.Molecular Biosciencesvishy@utexas.edu
Mary Jo Kirisits, Ph.D.Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineeringkirisits@utexas.edu
Nathaniel Lynd, Ph.D.Chemical Engineeringlynd@che.utexas.edu
Arumugam Manthiram, Ph.D.Mechanical Engineeringmanth@austin.utexas.edu
Shallaco McDonaldChemical Engineeringsmcdonald@che.utexas.edu
Adrianne Rosales, Ph.D.Chemical Engineeringarosales@che.utexas.edu
Michael Rose, Ph.D.Chemistrymrose@cm.utexas.edu
John SalsmanEnvironmental Health & Safetyjohn.salsman@austin.utexas.edu

Return to top.

Research Committees

Return to top.

Committees on Objectivity
Committee on Objectivity in Research

Committee Charge

The Committee on Objectivity in Research advises the Vice President for Research and the Conflict of Interest Official on matters related to the implementation of the University’s policy on "Promoting Objectivity in Research by Managing, Reducing or Eliminating Financial Conflict of Interest".

At a minimum, Committee members will include four members of the General Faculty, the Conflict of Interest Official, the Chair of the General Faculty Research Policy Committee, the Associate Dean for Research in the Cockrell School of Engineering, the Associate Dean for Research in the College of Natural Sciences, and the Associate Vice President for Administration and Legal Affairs.  The Vice President for Research chairs the Committee.

2018-2019 Committee on Objectivity in Research Member Roster

MemberDepartmentEmail
Dean Appling, Ph.D.College of Natural Sciencesdappling@austin.utexas.edu
Leszek Demkowicz, Ph.D.Aerospace Engineering & Engineering Mechanicsleszek@ices.utexas.edu
John Ekerdt, Ph.D.Cockrell School of Engineeringekerdt@utexas.edu
Andrew Ellington, Ph.D.Molecular Biosciencesellingtonlab@gmail.com
Benny Freeman, Ph.D.Chemical Engineeringfreeman@austin.utexas.edu
Elizabeth Thompson Gershoff, Ph.D.Research Policy Committeeliz.gershoff@austin.utexas.edu
Dan Jaffe, Ph.D., ChairVice President for Researchdtj@austin.utexas.edu
Les NicholsOffice of Technology Commercializationlnichols@otc.utexas.edu
Deborah Parra-Medina, Ph.D.Mexican American and Latino/a Studiesparramedina@austin.utexas.edu
Steve Rosen, Ph.D.Office of the Vice President for Legal Affairssrosen@austin.utexas.edu
Stan Roux, Ph.D.Research Integrity Officersroux@austin.utexas.edu
Michelle Stickler, Ph.D.Office of Research Support & Compliancem.stickler@austin.utexas.edu
Courtney Frazier SwaneyOffice of Sponsored Projectsc_frazier@austin.utexas.edu
Anne Tibbetts, Ph.D.Office of Research Support & Compliancea.tibbs@austin.utexas.edu

Return to top.

Safety Committees
Laser Safety Committee

Committee Charge

The Laser Safety Committee reports to the Vice President for Research and is responsible for review and approval of policies and practices regarding the acquisition, manufacture, registration, use, monitoring, transfer, and disposal of lasers or intense pulsed light devices at The University of Texas at Austin. The Committee will meet at least once each regular semester on a called basis, or as required, to review applications for laser use, inspection and training activities, any incidents and best safety practices. Three members shall constitute a quorum.

The Committee shall consult with the Office of Environmental Health and Safety (EHS) regarding regulatory issues and the current standards for safe use of lasers.  EHS shall assist the Committee concerning any unusual or exceptional action that affects the administration of the Laser Safety Program, and provides operational support to implement the program.

2018-2019 Laser Safety Committee Member Roster

MemberDepartmentEmail
Seth Bank, Ph.D.Electrical and Computer Engineeringsbank@ece.utexas.edu
Adela Ben-Yakar, Ph.D.Mechanical Engineeringben-yakar@mail.utexas.edu
Aaron Bernstein, Ph.D.Institute for Fusion Studiesabernste@mail.utexas.edu
Todd Ditmire, Ph.D., ChairCollege of Natural Sciencestditmire@physics.utexas.edu
DeWayne HolcombEnvironmental Health & Safetydholcomb@austin.utexas.edu
Sean Roberts, Ph.D.Chemistryroberts@cm.utexas.edu
John SalsmanEnvironmental Health & Safetyjohn.salsman@austin.utexas.edu
Tracy TippingNuclear Engineering Teaching Labttipping@austin.utexas.edu
James Tunnel, Ph.D.Biomedical Engineeringjtunnell@mail.utexas.edu

Return to top.

Research Safety Steering Committee

Committee Charge

The Research Safety Steering Committee is charged with providing oversight for all safety programs affecting university research. The Steering Committee ensures coordination between Offices of the Vice President of Operations and the Vice President for Research and among other safety committees including the Institutional Biosafety Committee, the Radiation Safety Committee, the Laser Safety Committee and the Research Safety Advisory Committee. The Steering Committee provides strategic direction to ensure regulatory compliance, promote a strong safety culture and encourage best safety practices consistent with the President’s EHS Statement of Commitment.

2018-2019 Research Safety Steering Committee Member Roster

MemberDepartmentEmail
Leo Barnes, J.D.Chief Compliance Officerlbarnes@austin.utexas.edu
Jennifer Brodbelt, Ph.D., ChairChemistryjbrodbelt@cm.utexas.edu
Kevin Dalby, Ph.D.College of Pharmacydalby@austin.utexas.edu
Todd Ditmire, Ph.D.Physicstditmire@physics.utexas.edu
DeWayne HolcombEnvironmental Health & Safetydholcomb@austin.utexas.edu
Jimmy JohnsonCampus Safetyjimmy.johnson@austin.utexas.edu
Alan Lloyd, Ph.D.Molecular Biosciencesamlloyd@utexas.edu
Andrea McNairEnvironmental Health & Safetyandrea.mcnair@austin.utexas.edu
Glen Otto, DVMAnimal Resources Centergotto@austin.utexas.edu
John SalsmanEnvironmental Health & Safetyjohn.salsman@austin.utexas.edu
Michelle Stickler, Ph.D.Office of Research Support & Compliancem.stickler@austin.utexas.edu

 

Return to top.

Radiation Safety Committee

Committee Charge

The Radiation Safety Committee reports to the President and has the broad responsibility for policies and practices regarding the license, purchase, shipment, use, monitoring, disposal and transfer of radioisotopes or source of ionizing radiation at The University of Texas at Austin. The Committee will meet at least once each regular semester on a called basis, or as required, to formally approve applications to use radioactive material. Four members shall constitute a quorum.

The Committee shall be consulted by the Office of Environmental Health and Safety concerning any unusual or exceptional action that affects the administration of the Radiation Safety Program.

2018-2019 Radiation Safety Committee Member Roster

MemberDepartmentEmail
Kevin Dalby, Ph.D., ChairCollege of Pharmacydalby@austin.utexas.edu
Dan Jaffe, Ph.D., Vice ChairVice President for Researchdtj@austin.utexas.edu
DeWayne HolcombEnvironmental Health & Safetydholcomb@austin.utexas.edu
Jack Ritchie, Ph.D.Physicsritchie@hep.utexas.edu
John SalsmanEnvironmental Health & Safetyjohn.salsman@austin.utexas.edu
Christopher Sullivan, Ph.D.Molecular Bioscienceschris_sullivan@austin.utexas.edu
Steven Swinnea, Ph.D.Chemical Engineeringswinnea@che.utexas.edu
Tracy TippingNuclear Engineering Teaching Labttipping@austin.utexas.edu
Karen Vasquez, Ph.D.College of Pharmacykaren.vasquez@austin.utexas.edu

Return to top.