Nobel Prize

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award.


  • John B. Goodenough (Nobel Prize in Chemistry) – 2019
  • Steven Weinberg (Nobel Prize in Physics) – 1979
    Affiliation at the time of the award: Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA
  • Ilya Prigogine* (Nobel Prize in Chemistry) – 1977
    Affiliation at the time of the award: Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium
  • Hermann J. Muller* (Nobel Prize in Medicine and Physiology) – 1946
    Affiliation at the time of the award: Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, USA

* deceased

Visit the Nobel Prize website.

See more below...