Robert W. Hamilton Book Awards Program

The University of Texas at Austin
The University Co-operative Society
The 2020 Professor Robert W. Hamilton Book Awards
Grand Prize: $10,000
Textbook Award: $10,000
Three Runner-up Prizes: $3,000

The Hamilton Book Awards, underwritten by The University Co-operative Society, will be made to faculty or staff members who, in the preceding calendar year (January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2019), have published the best book-length publications as determined by a multi-disciplinary committee of scholars appointed by the Vice President for Research of The University of Texas at Austin.


Published works including scholarly monographs, creative works (e.g., novels and anthologies of poetry), exhibition catalogues, textbooks, and edited collections may be nominated.

Books must be published between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019.

Current University of Texas at Austin faculty (tenured, tenure track, senior lecturers and lecturers) and full-time staff are eligible to compete for these awards. UT students are not eligible for this program.

Authors may nominate their publication(s) by submitting the following hard copies and electronic copies (both sets are required):

Hard copies:

  • Three copies of the book

Electronic copies:

  • Application via CompetitionSpace
  • Current CV (PDF or Word)
  • Brief bio (Word)
  • Book synopsis (one or two paragraphs in Word)
  • Two (2) or more substantive readers’ reports from knowledgeable scholars who evaluated the book manuscript for the publisher. Substitute materials are allowed if readers’ reports are not available, but include an explanatory note.
  • Book cover scan in PDF or JPG format, in color (unless the original art is B&W), file size: ≥500KB
  • Author’s headshot photograph in PDF or JPG format (file size: 8KB or larger; 2″x3″ or larger in size)

The required book copies should be delivered to the Office of the Vice President for Research (FAC 426, Mail Code: G1400). The electronic portion of the nomination packet should be uploaded via CompetitionSpace.

Complete nomination packets (books and electronic submissions) must reach the VP for Research by 5 p.m. on Thursday, January 23, 2020. No late entries or additional supporting material can be accepted, to be fair to all applicants.

Apply here

Authors of all nominated books will be honored at an awards ceremony hosted by the University Co-operative Society in Fall 2020.

View current and past years’ Hamilton Book Awards Winners.

View current and past years’ Hamilton Book Awards Nominees.

These awards are named in honor of Professor Robert W. Hamilton, the Minerva House Drysdale Regents Chair in Law at The University of Texas School of Law. Professor Hamilton is the former chairperson of the University Co-op’s board of directors. The Hamilton Book Awards program is underwritten by The University Co-operative Society.

For more information, contact or 512-471-2877.