Limited Submission Programs

Limited submission programs are those for which funding agencies restrict the number of nominations or proposals a university may submit for consideration for an award. The University of Texas at Austin, therefore, must internally screen all eligible and interested nominees to determine which will represent the university in the regional, national or international competitions.

Below is a list of limited submission programs managed by the VP for Research Office. (Limited Submission grants that include a budget and reporting requirements are managed by the Office of Sponsored Projects.) Included are deadlines for internal review and the final deadlines of the awarding agency. Researchers must contact their Dean’s or ORU Director’s office to ensure that deadlines at that level of review are met. Please note: This list is not exclusive nor exhaustive, since new programs are developed and existing programs change. If a UT researcher intends to submit for a limited submission program not on this list, he/she must contact Courtney Frazier in the Office of Sponsored Projects to secure authorization to submit on behalf of The University of Texas at Austin.

Every effort will be made to maintain current and accurate information within this list; however, the awarding agency’s posted information remains the final authority.

Visit the University’s Competition Space for a list of active limited submission programs.

For VPR-administered award, fellowship and grant programs, visit the Awards, Fellowships and Grants page.

Limited Submission Programs Show More

ProgramsVPR Internal DeadlineFunding Agency DeadlineNominee(s) Selected to Advance
Japan Society for the Promotion of Science’s International Prize for Biology03/30/1604/22/16Eric Pianka (Integrative Biology)
The Edith and Peter O'Donnell Awards: The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST)03/28/1604/30/16Daniel Bolnick (Integrative Biology); Tan Bui-Thanh (Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics); Mia Markey (Biomedical Engineering); Mikhail Matz (Integrative Biology); Lauren Meyers (Integrative Biology)
Japan Prize01/04/1602/29/16None
Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists10/23/1611/16/16
Tang Prize in Sustainable Development07/27/1509/30/15
Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science07/27/1509/30/15
Tang Prize in Sinology07/27/1509/30/15
Tang Prize in Rule of Law07/27/1509/30/15
SURA Distinguished Friend of Science Award07/20/1509/11/15Chandra R. Bhat (Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering)
Enrico Fermi Award06/30/15Mark Raizen (Physics)
Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award06/30/15Steven R. Biegalski (Mechanical Engineering)
Raymond & Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics05/18/1506/15/15None
SURA Distinguished Scientist Award11/01/1612/02/16
ORAU Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates (Graduate Students in Medicine/Physiology)10/20/1410/24/14Finalists/awardees:
Jeffrey Dick (Chemistry); Kyle Klavetter (Chemical Engineering);
ORAU Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates (Graduate Students in Economics)11/11/1311/15/13None
Raymond & Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences10/28/1311/1/13None
ORAU Events Sponsorship ProgramTwo calls will be issued until one successful application is received: 8/15 and 2/15 annually.UT may submit one application each fiscal year (Oct. 1 – Sept. 30).
ORAU Travel Grants8/15 and 2/15 annuallyN/A. Each ORAU Institution is limited to two requests within ORAU’s fiscal year (Oct. 1 – Sept. 30).

Not-Limited Submission Programs Show More

ProgramsFunding Agency Deadline
Hackerman Award in Chemical Research (Welch Foundation)09/15/16
National Medal of Science04/15/16
National Medal of Technology & Innovation04/01/16
Balzan Prizes03/15/16
Robert A. Welch Award in Chemistry01/29/16
Beckman-Argyros Award in Vision Research11/20/15
NSF - Alan T. Waterman Award10/23/15
NSB’s Vannevar Bush Award10/01/15
NSB’s Public Service Award10/01/15
Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement09/11/15
The Wolf Prizes08/31/15
Millenium Technology Prize07/31/15

Other Limited Submission Opportunities Show More

ProgramsFunding Agency DeadlineInstitutional Contact
Luce Scholars Program11/1/16Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603.
NEH Summer Stipends9/29/16Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603.
U.S.-Israel Binational Science Foundation (BSF)5/14/15Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603.
Beckman Scholars Program6/15/16Kristine Haskett, College of Natural Sciences;
MSRI Summer Graduate Schools3/1/16Thomas Chen, Dept of Mathematics;
Trudeau Scholars12/11/15Elizabeth Korves, Office of Graduate Studies (OGS); 512-232-3603.