The Office of the Vice President for Research is pleased to announce the awardees for the 2018-2019 VPR Research & Creative Grants. Fifty-five proposals covering a wide variety of disciplines were reviewed by a committee of faculty peers, who selected twelve one-year projects to fund at a level of up to $10,000 each. The winners represented seven colleges across campus. The twelve awardees are these:

Charles O. Anderson, The Walter and Gina Ducloux Fine Arts Faculty Fellow Endowment, Fellow of Effie Marie Cain Regents Chair in Fine Arts, Department of Theater and Dance, (Re)current Unrest

Sarah K. Bearman, Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, Promoting Positive Parenting for High-Risk Families in Primary Care Settings

Sarah Brayne, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, Policing Data: Surveillance and Prediction in the Digital Age

Daniel Breecker, Associate Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, Preliminary Assessment of Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide Levels During an Ancient Global Warming Event

John R. Clarke, Annie Laurie Howard Regents Professor in Fine Arts, Department of Art and Art History, Web Publication of 3-D Model and Database of an Ancient Roman Villa

Michael Drew, Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience, Hippocampal Mechanisms of Fear Extinction and Relapse

Paola Passalacqua, Associate Professor, Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering, Quantifying Sediment Connectivity to Inform Coastal Restoration

David G. Quinto-Pozos, Associate Professor, Department Linguistics, Pilot Study of Bilingual Vocabulary & Reading Development in Deaf Children

Michael J. Ryan, Clark Hubbs Regents Professor in Zoology, Department of Integrative Biology, The Creative Role of Dopamine in the Evolution of Sexual Beauty

Marissa Nichole Rylander, Werner W. Dornberger Centennial Teaching Fellow in Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Development and Utilization of a Vascularized In Vitro Skin Platform for Dynamic Characterization of Bacteria and Immune Cell Migration to Recapitulate Acute Wound Contamination

Harold Zakon, Professor, Department of Neuroscience, Evolution of a Temperature-sensitive Ion Channel in Antarctic “Icefish”

Yan Zhang, GSLIS Alumni Teaching Fellow, Fellow of Governor Bill Daniel Professorship in Archival Enterprise, School of Information, Promoting Quality Evaluation of Health Information in Online Searches through Nudging: Design and Evaluation of PageGraph Interface

Abstracts for the awarded projects are available online.

The VPR Research and Creative Grant program provides support of up to $10,000 for specific projects of individual tenured and tenure-track faculty members. The program’s overall objectives are to promote research, outreach, and creative activities in all disciplines. For more information and annual submission deadlines, please visit the Vice President for Research website.