Edison Medal

The Edison Medal is presented by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) “for a career of meritorious achievement in electrical science, electrical engineering or the electrical arts.” It is the oldest and most coveted medal in this field of engineering in the United States.

The Edison Medal, named in honor of America’s most famous inventor and entrepreneur Thomas Edison, has been presented since 1909.


  • Alan Bovik (Electrical & Computer Engineering) – 2022
  • Archie Straiton* (Electrical Engineering) – 1990

* deceased

Visit the Edison Medal website.

See more below...