2019 Co-op Research Excellence Awards and Hamilton Book Awards

The Office of the Vice President for Research is pleased to congratulate the 2019 winners of the University Co-op Research Excellence Awards and the 2019 Robert W. Hamilton Book Awards.

The Co-op Research Excellence Awards recognize the outstanding efforts of our faculty and research staff by presenting three annual awards: the Career Award, the Best Paper Award, and the Creative Research Award. These awards have become one of the most prominent symbols of peer recognition at The University of Texas at Austin, not only for career-long accomplishments and scientific research output but also for creative research and artistic endeavors. The winners are these:

Career Award: Jonathan L. Sessler, Professor at the Department of Chemistry, and R.P. Doherty, Jr. – Welch Regents Chair in Chemistry, College of Natural Sciences.

Best Paper Award: Yuebing Zheng, Assistant Professor at the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering, for his paper Opto-Thermoelectric Nanotweezers.

Creative Research Award: KJ Sanchez, Associate Professor at the Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts, for her breathtaking record of creative research accomplishments during 2018, including three world premieres at three different renown venues: (dis)placed at the Guthrie Theatre, Grandma’s Empanadas at the Milwaukee Repertory Theatre, Cincinnati King at the Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park, as well as her directorial role in Quixote Nuevo, and the world premiere of Knyum.

The Hamilton Book Awards are named in honor of Professor Robert W. Hamilton, Texas Law Emeritus Professor, and former chairperson of the University Co-op’s board of directors. The awards, underwritten by The University Co-operative Society, honor faculty or staff members who, in the preceding calendar year (January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2018), published the best book-length publications as determined by a multi-disciplinary committee of scholars appointed by the Vice President for Research of The University of Texas at Austin.

The Hamilton Book Award winners are:

Grand Prize:
The Invention of Race in the European Middle Ages by Geraldine Heng, Professor in the Department of English, College of Liberal Arts

Top Textbook Prize:
Human Trafficking: Applying Research, Theory, and Case Studies, by Noël Busch-Armendariz, Professor at the School of Social Work, and Director of the Institute on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault at the Steve Hicks School of Social Work, with Co-Authors: Maura Nsonwu, Laurie Cook Heffron

Runners-up (in alphabetical order by author):
Little, A Novel by Edward Carey (Jonathan Harvey), Associate Professor in the Department of English, College of Liberal Arts

No Exit by Yoav Di-Capua, Professor at the Department of History, College of Liberal Arts

America’s Lone Star Constitution – How Supreme Court Cases from Texas Shape the Nation by Lucas A. Powe, Jr., Professor in the School of Law, and the Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts

Honorable Mention:
Red China’s Green Revolution: Technological Innovation, Institutional Change, and Economic Development Under the Commune by Joshua David Eisenman, former Assistant Professor at the LBJ School of Public Affairs

Explore the Gallery of 2019 Hamilton Book Nominations.

We thank all members of the review committees who contributed their time and expertise in selecting this year’s winners. Kudos as well to all nominees for the remarkable work submitted for consideration.

Please address questions to: honorific-coop-hamilton@austin.utexas.edu.