2018 Co-op Awards Winners and Finalists

We are pleased to announce and congratulate the winners of the 2018 Robert W. Hamilton Book Awards and the winners of the 2018 University Co-operative Society’s Research Excellence Awards.

Research Excellence Awards recognize the outstanding efforts of our faculty and research staff. They have become one of the most prominent symbols of peer recognition at The University of Texas at Austin, not only for career-long accomplishments and scientific research output but also for creative research and artistic endeavors.

Today, we honor faculty and research staff with three Research Excellence Awards: the Career Award, the Best Paper Award, and the Creative Research Award.

Those winners are:

Career Award Winner: John DiGiovanni, Coulter R. Sublett chair in Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy; Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics, Dell Medical School

Best Paper Award Winner: Jacob Wegmann, Assistant Professor, School of Architecture, for his paper: Measuring Informal Housing Production in California Cities

Creative Award Winner: Peter LaSalle, Susan Taylor McDaniel Regents Professor in Creative Writing #2 Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts, for his book Sleeping Mask: Fictions

We’re also very pleased to announce the finalists for the Robert W. Hamilton Book Award, UT’s most prestigious award that honors faculty and staff members who’ve published book-length contributions in their fields. Three runners-up will receive $3,000 each, and the grand prize winner, who was announced at the awards ceremony on October 30, will receive $10,000.

The Hamilton Book Award Winners are:

Grand Prize Winner:
Daina Berry, Department of History and African and African Diaspora Studies, College of Liberal Arts for: The Price for Their Pound of Flesh: The Value of the Enslaved, from Womb to Grave, in the Building of a Nation

Runners up (in alphabetical order):
Michael Hudec, Bureau of Economic Geology, Jackson School of Geosciences for: Salt Tectonics: Principles and Practice

Jacqueline Jones, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts for: Goddess of Anarchy: The Life and Times of Lucy Parsons

Jeremi Suri, LBJ School of Public Affairs; Department of History, College of Liberal Arts for: The Impossible Presidency: The Rise and Fall of America’s Highest Office

Explore the Gallery of 2018 Hamilton Book Nominations.

We thank the members of both review panels who contributed their time and expertise in selecting this year’s winners. Kudos as well to all nominees for the remarkable work submitted for consideration.

Please address questions to: honorific-coop-hamilton@austin.utexas.edu.